

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 4, 2024

Contact: Catherine Lockwood | media@atcmeeting.org

# ATC 2024 Recognizes Award Winners for Ground-Breaking Achievements in Transplantation

The American Transplant Congress Bestows Grants and Achievement Awards to Gifted
Transplantation Experts

**WASHINGTON, DC** – The American Transplant Congress (ATC 2024) announced its award winners in transplantation research and achievements on behalf of the American Society of Transplantation (AST), American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS), and American Journal of Transplantation (AJT). In each of the respective achievement awards, grant programs, and article awards, ATC 2024 recognized transplantation experts, students, and scholars for their impact on the field as well as their influential and promising research to continue advancing innovation in transplantation.

In their 2024 Achievement Awards, AST awarded 15 total recipients for achievements and contributions to AST and the field of transplantation. AST recognized Allan Kirk, MD, PhD, FACS with the Lifetime Achievement Award, which is AST's highest honor, conferred for significant contributions to the Society and to transplantation.

ASTS awarded Igal Kam, MD the Pioneer Award for his achievements in transplantation. Additionally, ASTS bestowed 20 grants from \$5,000 to \$200,000 to PhD students, professors, doctors, and researchers. In total, ASTS is offering \$1.02 million of grant money with the support of member sponsors and funding partners Gift of Life, Takeda, TransMedics, and Veloxis.

Lastly, AJT honored three authors for the AJT Outstanding Authors Award. Each of the three authors were recognized in one of the following categories: basic science, translational science, and clinical research.

Below includes a full list of the award and grant recipients for each of the awards from AST, ASTS, and AJT:

### **ATC 2024 Award Recipients**

#### **AST Achievement Awards**

- Lifetime Achievement Award: Allan Kirk, MD, PhD, FACS
- Additional Achievement Awards

- o Transplant Advocacy Award: Valen Keefer
- Advancing Advocacy in Organ Transplantation Award: Belinda Paganafanador, BSN, MBA, MS, MS, BS
- Mentoring Award: Peter Heeger, MD
- Physician of Distinction Award: Lara Danziger-Isakov, MD, MPH
- o Senior Achievement in Clinical Transplantation Award: Michael Ison, MD, MS
- o Basic Science Established Investigator Award: Daniel Kreisel, MD, PhD
- Basic Science Investigator Award: Jamil Azzi, MD, PhD and Leonardo Riella, MD, PhD
- o Basic Career Science Development Award: Thiago Borges, PhD
- Clinical Science Established Investigator Award: Jennifer Lai, MD, MBA
- Distinguished Senior Career Award: Lisa Potter, PharmD, BCTXP, BCPS, FCCP, FAST and Joelle Nelson, PharmD, BCPS, BCTXP, FAST
- Distinguished Early Career Award: Kayla Joyal, PharmD

# **ASTS Pioneer Award and Grant Recipients**

- Pioneer Award: Igal Kam, MD
- Grant Recipients
  - Advanced Transplant Provider Research Grant (ASTS Foundation): Maya Clark-Cutaia, PhD, ACNP-BC and Lisa Coscia, RN, BSN, CCTC, FAST
  - o Collaborative Scientist Grant (ASTS Foundation): Joel Adler, MD, MPH
  - o Faculty Development Grant (ASTS Foundation): Steven Kim, MD
  - o Jon Fryer Resident Scientist Scholarship (ASTS Foundation): Imad Aljabban, MD
  - o Presidential Student Mentor Grant (ASTS Foundation): Chris Seung
  - Presidential Student Mentor Grant (Member Funded): Tran Ngo, Julia Bruner, Pranay
     Singh, Brendan Lohmar, Alexander Nguyen, Joshua Kettelkamp and Zachary Kaplan
  - Ronald & JoAnn Busuttil Surgeon Scientist Scholarship (ASTS Foundation): Jonathan Merola, MD, PhD
  - o Gift of Life Socio Economic and Racial Disparity Grant: Pedro Rodrigo Sandoval, MD
  - Takeda Socio Economic and Racial Disparity Grant: Nassir Thalji, PhD
  - o TransMedics Faculty Perfusion Grant: Blayne Sayed, MD, PhD
  - Veloxis Advanced Transplant Provider Research Grant: Elaina Weldon, MSN, ACNP-BC
  - o Veloxis Fellowship in Transplantation Grant: Davide Cina, MD, PhD

# **AJT Outstanding Article Awards**

- Basic Science
  - Winner: Maria-Luisa Alegre, MD, PhD
  - Article: <u>Microbiota-dependent and -independent effects of obesity on transplant</u> rejection and hyperglycemia

# Translational Science

- Winner: David A. Hildeman and E. Steve Woodle, MD
- Article: Effects of in vivo CXCR4 Blockade and Proteasome Inhibition on Bone Marrow
   Plasma Cells in HLA Sensitized Kidney Transplant Candidates

#### Clinical Research

- o Winner: Joel T. Adler, MD, MPH
- Article: <u>Increased volume of organ offers and decreased efficiency of kidney placement</u> under circle-based kidney allocation

For more information about ATC 2024, to become a member of AST and/or ASTS, visit: atcmeeting.org.

The American Society of Transplantation (AST), founded in 1982 is an organization of more than 3,500 professionals dedicated to advancing the field of transplantation and improving patient care by promoting research, education, advocacy, and organ donation. The society is the largest transplant organization in North America and is recognized as the premier society for transplantation. AST members are sought out as transplant experts and advocates.

The <u>American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS)</u> was founded in 1974 by 127 surgeons to unite the professionals who were advancing the fledgling field of organ transplantation. From this small group of dedicated individuals, the society has grown to represent over 2,000 transplant professionals who are dedicated to saving and improving lives through the transformative power of organ donation and transplant surgery.

The <u>American Journal of Transplantation (AJT)</u> is the official journal of the American Society of Transplantation and American Society of Transplant Surgeons. AJT is a leading journal in its field that publishes original articles, case reports, invited reviews, letters to the editor, critical reviews, news features, consensus documents, and guidelines over 12 issues a year.

###